You are here


The Organisation

The NWO Domain Applied and Engineering Sciences (AES, previously Technology Foundation STW) can trace its roots back to the programme for Technical Physics and Innovation initiated by the FOM Foundation at the end of the 1970s. In 1981 Technology Foundation STW was officially established as a foundation to serve the entire spectrum of technical sciences. Since then the foundation's objective has been to realise knowledge transfer from excellent technical scientific research. Several years ago the emphasis in the mission was changed to knowledge transfer between the technical sciences and users so as to emphasise the role of the users in all AES projects. During the research projects users provide valuable recommendations and contribute their own knowledge, which can lead to a tightening of the research question. Ultimately innovation – or in AES terms utilisation – is the result of the joint efforts between researchers and users.
Key figures
The researchers in AES projects are employed at the institution that carries out the research. At any given time there are about 600 projects that are led by a university project leader and supervised by a program officer (PO) from AES. About 1300 user relations are involved in all of the projects together. About 1000 of these come from industry and about 40% of these are from technical SMEs. The new knowledge is recorded each year in about 65 theses, 600 scientific publications and 5 patents. New knowledge also finds its way to industry via licence agreements and start-ups.
About 57 million euros of AES's budget comes from the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) and the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science (OCW), 23 million euros from the Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Policy (EZK), 17 million euros from third parties and 14 million from cash co-financing by companies participating in research projects. In addition to this the partners make in-kind contributions to the research.
Board and offices
The NWO Domain Applied and Engineering Sciences (AES, previously Technology Foundation STW) is part of NWO, the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research. AES has its own board. The day-to-day leadership is in the hands of the director. The Board and director are supported by the AES office, where a total of 60 FTE support staff work. About half of these are highly qualified program officers who are each experts in several disciplines. They have a programme, projects and networks in their portfolio. 
The board of AES consists of: Jaap Schouten (chair)
Prof.dr. Isabel Arends (vice char)
Ir. Karin Sluis
Dr. Margrethe Jonkman
Dr. René Penning de Vries
Prof.dr. Wiro Niessen